Princess at Rest

I spent a glorious sunny weekend in Elkins Park with family and friends. I pruned the raspberries, cheered on the chickens, and applauded the activity of the honeybees as they collected pollen from the earliest blooming flowers. Besides that, we laid Princess to rest.

I met Alaina Mabaso about a year ago when she was writing an article for GRID magazine about chickens, bees, and sustainable living. She is a very talented freelance writer. She has an active blog site called Alaina Mabaso’s Blog: Fiction need not apply. I, definitely, recommend visiting the site to read her posts.  (Personally, I’m crazy about her cartoons!) Recently, she had posted The Big Dead Goldfish Dilemma. She had a large goldfish that passed away and she was querying her readership as to what she might do with its body. She received record feedback on her post and one of the responses was from me. I was planning a Three Sisters Garden for the front yard and, in my reading, found that the native people who planted these gardens would bury the bodies of fish under their corn to nourish the plants. This is what I suggested and, then, I forgot about it until I received a message from Alaina. She was interested in taking me up on my offer.

princess

I dug down about a foot into soft soil where one of the corn/bean mounds was to be planted. Alaina placed Princess on a moist nest of straw. Upon Princess, we placed another thin layer of straw and, then, mounded the earth on top of her. To keep animals from being tempted to dig, we secured a screen over the area. In May, the corn, beans, and squash will take deep root and flourish. Princess will be a part of that. Thank you, Princess, and rest in peace!

Related Story at Alaina’s Blog

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Princess at Rest

  1. Alaina Mabaso says:

    Lovely! Princess will surely rest in peace.

  2. Crafty Garden Mama says:

    It’s always nice when the end of one life can give back to the start of another. We use fish parts for under our tomatoes each year. It is a fantastic natural fertilizer.

  3. I just stumbled over your blog, looking for “harvesting amaranth”, thanks for these tips!

    The story about Princesses burial reminded me of the burial of our very first dog, Senta. Many, many years ago we lived on a small farm in Switzerland, and our son Adrian was barely four years old. One sad day, our dog Senta died suddenly, and we, the parents, were both crying. Adrian, little fellow he was, looked at us and said: “Stop crying now. Mummy, lets go to that place they sell stuff for the garden. You can buy a tree there. I would like a plum tree. And Daddy can dig a hole in the orchard. We will put Senta in that hole and then the roots of the tree and cover it with earth. Senta will become Earth and get into the tree, and when we’ll eat the plums, Senta is still with us.” Four years old he was… Senta’s tree, we called it, thrived and gave us sweet, yellow plums, until we had to move along and cross the ocean…
    Adrian is a Daddy himself today. I’am still very proud of my son.

Leave a Reply

