Bath and body works

Funny.

The title of this post could, also, be “This is peak when it comes to my decorating for Christmas.”

Alternately: “When do we get real Interior Design?”

Or: “How do you spell “loo-fuh?” (It’s a trick. Google doesn’t seem to care.)

I grew the luffa. I peeled the loofah. I removed the seed and washed the loofah. I squeezed and squished and shook the luffa. Then, I hung the loofah out (in) to dry!

belowlouffa

They looked like ornaments in the western sunlight coming through the window. Okay. TO ME, they look like ornaments in the sunlight. Click on the photo to see a larger image…it may help.

onelouffa

I received the initial loofah inspiration from my inspiring friend, Bob,  I used this guide to help me process the gourds into useable sponges.

Originally, I thought that I was only going to get one loofah from five plants and the jungle of bumblebee filled flowers and leaves that they created. However, later in the season; the luffa seemed to wake up and fruit profusely. I thought the fruit would not get to a mature enough stage before cold weather and would be too green to make loofah sponges. I got lucky. I did get enough of a harvest to make me want to try this again….even better next time! I do not mean to neglect, though I did neglect…that these gourds are edible when young. Since I was so neglectful, I did not eat them and cannot report on their taste. Next time! Speaking of multiple functions, I might as well add that loofah growing upon a trellis in front of the chicken run provides a wonderful amount of shade for those special creatures.

According to wiki, loofahs have been used medicinally AND for construction material. If you look at the following photo, you can start to understand how using vegetables for construction could be so!

loofah

Please, take the time to magnify that photo (click, click). The structure of the luffa sponge is amazing. (When the light is better, I’m going to nail this photo!) Beneath the layer of skin, there is a strong rough flexible net of fiber that creates tubes going the length of the sponge. The seed that the loofah produces can be knocked out through those tubes and, Wow! the loofah is prolific when it comes to producing seeds! Yup….wait ’til next year!!!

Addendum:  A hot shower with a homegrown luffa and a shot of Dr. Bronner’s. There will be no turning back!

close2

This entry was posted in Organic gardening, Permaculture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

