Dried up and Smelly

Outside, I’m surrounded with the dreamy scent of alpine strawberries and butterfly bush blossoms. A step inside brings a hit of cucumber and dill and chamomile. It’s nearly summertime!

I decided to dehydrate a bunch of German chamomile flowers yesterday. I did some research on how to do this and found a couple of useful websites. The first gives an overview of herbs that can be harvested and stored for later use. That link is here. The specific method I used prevents insects from infesting your stores by pre-treating with salt water. The temperature used to dehydrate herbs is quite low and would not suffice to kill off the critters. I followed the instructions from this helpful blog post.

I harvested after the dew dried and before the flowers fully opened. I read that the annual German chamomile is the preferred variety for using for tea and my friend, Rita, helped me plant a patch. I do have the perennial Roman chamomile all over the place as a wild looking ground cover. It is not as fragile as it may appear. I am always walking on it and mowing over it and pushing it around…so wonderfully fragrant!

Chamomile is useful in the garden to attract beneficial insects and pollinators. I think this is a hoverfly. As well as serving as a pollinator; its larvae feed on many species of aphids.

I raked through the chamomile with my fingers to gather the blossoms. You can buy an actual chamomile rake for working on a larger scale. We are very very small scale here!

I soaked the blossoms in salt water for ten minutes, rinsed, and then soaked them in cold water for five.

I dehydrated at 95 degrees which is the setting for herbs. I had them in the dehydrator for about 18 hours. That is longer than I’ve read in other references. I ended up going through the night at a slightly lower temperature because I was concerned that the thick yellow buttons weren’t dry enough. I’ve had my stores go funky because of not drying sufficiently and I didn’t want to waste these. I kept them whole as is suggested. They will get crushed come tea time. The dessicated shriveled flowers smell amazingly potent and alive! Though I took this photo in the sunlight, I did not keep it there for long. I covered the jar tightly and put it in a dark drawer. Light and heat will have a negative effect on the strength of the herb.

UPDATE: After a little experimenting with dehydrating herbs (Chamomile, Thai Holy Basil, and Lemon Verbena) and reading about other people’s experiences with dehydrating; I found that pushing the temp closer to 115 degrees made for quicker and more complete drying while still keeping the color and fragrance of the herbs.

This entry was posted in Organic gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

