Hooray! Coldframes!

AS I MULCHED THE MID-AUTUMN LEAVES, I GOT THE VERY BRIGHT IDEA TO BUILD COLD FRAMES.
FIRST, I DUG OUT THREE SHRUBS FROM THE SOUTHEAST FACING WALL OF THE HOUSE.
I TOOK THE SHRUBS OUT TO THE CURB WITH A “FREE HEALTHY SHRUBS” SIGN AND, HAPPILY, ASSISTED MY NEIGHBOR IN GETTING THEM INTO HIS TRUCK.
THEN, I BEGAN TO PREPARE THE SOIL. IT WAS SAD, DUSTY, AND DEPLETED; BUT I HAD A PLAN.
MOVING IN SECTIONS; I DUG ABOUT 18″ DOWN AND LAYERED GREEN MULCH AND COMPOST INTO THE BOTTOM OF THE HOLE.
I ALTERNATED LAYERS OF LEAF MULCH, MANURE, AND SOIL.
TO THE TOP.

MULCHED LEAVES WERE THE ICING ON THE CAKE!
WE HAD OLD WINDOWS STORED FOR JUST THIS SORT OF OCCASION.
THE SIZE (AND WEIGHT) OF THE WINDOWS DETERMINED THE DIMENSIONS OF THE THREE COLD FRAMES-TO-BE.
I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE AS A CARPENTER. CREATING A GOOGLE SKETCHUP DESIGN HELPED ME UNDERSTAND THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE BOX. IT, ALSO, MADE IT EASY TO CREATE THE CUT LIST.
I MEASURED ONCE AND I MEASURED TWICE.
WE USED CEDAR SO THAT THESE BOXES WILL LAST IN THE WEATHER.
THANK GOODNESS FOR WONDERFUL HELP FROM J! HE SHOWED ME HOW A CONSTRUCTED JIG CAN BE USED TO CUT THE ANGLED SIDES OF THE BOX WITH THE TABLE SAW.
ONCE THE BOXES WERE CONSTRUCTED; I BRUSHED ON A LAYER OF LINSEED OIL TO PROTECT THE WOOD.
J HINGED THE WINDOWS ON TO THE BOXES WHILE I PRUNED THE RASPBERRIES. TEAMWORK!
THE PICTURE IS BECOMING MORE COMPLETE. I’LL LET THE ENVIRONMENT IN THE BOXES WARM UP A BIT AND, THEN, LET THE PLANTING BEGIN!
This entry was posted in Edible Landscaping, Food, Organic gardening, Permaculture, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

